Registration Now Open for Labor Notes' Secrets of a Successful Organizer Summer Series

Registration Now Open for Labor Notes' Secrets of a Successful Organizer Summer Series

Registration is now open for Labor Notes' Secrets of a Successful Organizer training series. The series are grounded in the teaching of Labor Notes' book of the same name: Secrets of a Successful Organizer. If you're thinking of starting a union, LaborLab can't recommend Secrets of a Successful Organizer high enough. Click here to buy it.

Labor Notes is are offering the series in two rounds:

  • The Wednesday sessions will run 12:00-2:00pm ET (9:00-11:00am PT) on June 2, 9, 16, and 23.
     
  • The Thursday sessions will run 7:00-9:00 pm ET (4:00-6:00pm PT) on June 10, 17, 24, and 31.

Each series will be composed of a number of workshops including Beating Apathy, Assembling Your Dream Team, and Turning and Issue into a Campaign. Workshop descriptions are below.

Click here to register


Workshop Descriptions 

  • Beating Apathy

    Are you beating your head against the wall trying to get other workers involved? This workshop is for you. Hear success stories from those who’ve turned their workplaces around and turned apathy into action. Learn practical organizing tools for engaging your co-workers, taking action, and getting results.
     
  • Assembling Your Dream Team

    Your workplace may feel like an unorganized mess, but the truth is you’re not starting from zero. There’s organization there already—though it might have nothing to do with the union. Learn how to map out the existing networks in your workplace, identify the leaders in those networks, and then knit them together into an organizing committee.
     
  • Turning an Issue into a Campaign

    Everybody has complaints and frustrations, but an organizer has the power to turn problems into opportunities. Learn how to sort through the issues you hear from co-workers, bring people together, and make a plan to solve them.